You’ll find more information about the Season of Epiphany & the Liturgical Calendar below.

Ordinary Time
This term is used in the Roman Catholic Church to indicate the parts of the liturgical year that
are not included in the major seasons of the church calendar. Ordinary time includes the Monday
after the Feast of the Baptism of our Lord through the Tuesday before Ash Wednesday, and the
Monday after Pentecost through the Saturday before the First Sunday of Advent. A vigil or other
service anticipating the First Sunday of Advent on the Saturday before that Sunday would also
be included in the season of Advent. Ordinary time can be understood in terms of the living out
of Christian faith and the meaning of Christ’s resurrection in ordinary life. The term “ordinary
time” is not used in the Prayer Book, but the season after Pentecost can be considered ordinary
time. It may be referred to as the “green season,” because green is the usual liturgical color for
this period of the church year. The BCP provides numbered propers with collects and lectionary
readings for the Sundays of the Season after Pentecost. The Epiphany season includes the
Epiphany, the First Sunday after the Epiphany: the Baptism of our Lord Jesus Christ, and the
Second Sunday through the Last Sunday after the Epiphany (BCP, p. 31). In view of the
Epiphany themes that are presented throughout the Epiphany season, it should not be considered
ordinary time. However, many parishes use green as the liturgical color for the Second Sunday
through the Sunday prior to the Last Sunday after the Epiphany, and sometimes the Last Sunday
after the Epiphany. Epiphany season and the season after Pentecost vary in length depending on
the date of Easter (see BCP, pp. 884-885).
“Liturgical Colors” in Episcopal worship signify our place in the Church Year: GREEN is used
during Epiphany and the ‘Ordinary Time’ after Pentecost.
WHITE, the color of Jesus’ burial garments, for Christmas, Easter, and other ‘feasts’ or festival
days, as well as marriages and funerals.
Collect Prayer for the First Sunday in Ordinary Time:
Almighty and everlasting God, you have given to us your servants grace, by the confession of a
true faith, to acknowledge the glory of the eternal Trinity, and in the power of your divine
Majesty to worship the Unity: Keep us steadfast in this faith and worship, and bring us at last to
see you in your one and eternal glory, O Father; who with the Son and the Holy Spirit live and
reign, one God, for ever and ever. Amen. (Book of Common Prayer, page 228)